Promises of Words


We dream of great things
with hope of achieving them.
Then often settle.

If I ever settle
and choose to give up my dreams
show these musings.

Remind me of days
skipping class thinking only
of my love for words.

Doing everything 
so I’d have experiences
to later write of.

How all that I did
was so I could write each day
despite life matters.

If I tie a noose
around my neck, then pull it
till my eyes pop out.

If I forget how 
to think then blow my brains out
and paint history’s walls. 

If I become like
those people that critique
show me my own truth.

I offer these words
as a promise that never
will I change myself.

My word and ideas
shall remain as true as now.
This is my promise. 

Leave a Reply

