Life in Sin


You say this is the happiest you’ve been
Is it worth living in sin?
To keep lying?
I myself am conniving.
Lust is the force that keep driving
stringing us along.
I wish we never tried to move on
More so never went along.
With the lies we were telling
Tired of my soul I was selling.
When I try to say what’s true
Everyone believes in you
What is there for me
when honesty isn’t the best policy?
I’m getting too old
for this back and forth play.
I actually remember the day
When you left it was a shame,
couldn’t ever remember my name
I swore I wouldn’t be the same,
Never fall in love again
Then things changed
Lufe has been strange
I’ve been thinking
How we fall in relationships
in love with them
Willing to make mistakes again
Lying about living in sin
If only to continue in them
If you don’t believe in God
It’s easier to continue a facade
We want to protect our place
You’ll lie to his face
Decide relationships by race
I must face it 
we were complacent
We could taste it
on our lips 
We could not continue like this
At least I couldn’t
I told you you shouldn’t.
Right the wrongs
Against those you loved
There’s blood in my mouth
Though I never bit my tongue. 
Your speech suggests
Your love is a leech
draining all of that blood
flowing in your heart
It shouldn’t be startling news
that you abused trust
for lust
This is what selfish love
does to us. 

One thought on “Life in Sin

  1. Eric Alagan says:

    What a trade – what price the pleasures from sin.

Leave a Reply

