Time Departs


Three blades swirling that fuse
twirling white bodies of smoke
into a coil.
Below it all, in humid confines
with sweat its only moisture,
are tan walls and light outside.
Small roads of light illuminating dust piling on dark skin.
Fever chills till I can no longer move
a hand stroking my thinning hair
soothing someone’s coughing cries.
Oh just go already. Why are you still here?
Why do you force me to stare?
It hurts knowing
I will be leaving soon
are the thoughts we both own.
I fear doing this alone.
Yet you must escape away
I don’t want you to go
but I cannot be kind and stay
are the words
we wish to say.
But we shall be alone
and go as we are.
We are not fine.
Not yet I know.
Please come with me.
So I do not go alone.
Am I selfish
unreasonable
for thoughts that won’t be?
Perhaps I am undying
or in mourning.
Perhaps in a haze
we shall go on for days
after the second
we part ways.

2 thoughts on “Time Departs

  1. Love this poem 🙂

  2. Kalamouri says:

    Thank you so much! I’m really working on different methods of looking at things and showing that in my poems.

Leave a Reply

